New deadlines to renew your driver’s license and marbete sticker post Hurricane Maria


Carlos M. Contreras Aponte, secretary of the Department of Transportation and Public Works (DTOP), announced Friday, the new deadlines to renew driver’s licenseS and marbete stickers, putting end to the moratorium granted last September 25 after the impact of Hurricane Maria.

The end of this moratorium, which allowed hundreds of thousands of drivers to have the benefit of maintaining the Automobile Accident Compensation Administration (ACAA) and Compulsory Insurance Administration covers, despite not being able to renew their licenses and tags, will apply in a staggered way, according to the expiration dates of the licenses and tags of each driver.

The deadlines for renewing licenses and tags will apply as follows:

Driver’s licenses or marbete stickers that expired on or before August 2017 have until October 31 to renew.

Driver’s licenses or marbete stickers expiring on September 30, 2017 have until November 17, 2017 for renewal.

Driver’s licenses or marbete that expires on October 31, 2017 have until November 30, 2017 to renew.

As explained by the Secretary of DTOP in a press release, “given that we have begun to provide some of the services through the Directorate of Driver Services (DISCO), that a large part of the inspection centers throughout the Island are opened, and that the Department of the Treasury has begun to do the same through its collections centers, we have approved Resolution 2017-32, terminating the moratorium, but in a staggered way. In this way, we give drivers a reasonable time to renew their licenses and marbete that have already expired, or are about to expire.”

For a list of open DTOP service centers and Treasury Department collection centers, press here:

For more information, visit:


Comments are closed.